Running up and down the Lakes

After accidentally running the Lakeland 50, I had such an amazing time that I’ve now entered the Lakeland 100 in July 2019.  I met a whole bunch of great people and felt so good during the race.  I wrote in my last post that I’d focus on efficiency with training and ran no further than 20 miles during the build-up.  Here’s my full race report on RunUltra:

https://www.runultra.co.uk/Reviews/Running-events/Europe/Lakeland-50-Race-Report

If running the length of the Lakes onces wasn’t enough, a few days ago I also completed Lakes in a Day – a 50 mile race from Caldbeck to Cartmel.  Oh, and how different it was – we battled through Storm Callum over some very testing terrain and it ended up taking me five hours longer than the Lakeland 50! I’m hoping to write a rain drenched report for RunUltra sometime soon, but here is Michelle and I at registration – how little we knew what was to come!

Start pic

I managed a few product reviews for RunUltra recently and have just received a pair of Hoka Evo Mafate to give a thorough bashing.  I’m also due to try out some Exposure Headtorches  which look great and its just the right time of year to get out in the hills in the dark!

Other recent reviews include: –

Montane Via Trail Series – https://www.runultra.co.uk/Reviews/Running-gear/Multi-product-review/Montane-Via-Trail-Series-review

Scarpa Neutron 2 – https://www.runultra.co.uk/Reviews/Running-gear/Running-shoes/Scarpa-Neutron-2-shoe-review

 

Leave a comment