DNS… DNF… Do Not Know!

On Friday, I’m probably kind of, sort of, potentially running an ultra.  This year I’d opted for the Lakeland Trail 110km as my “A-race” but after a magnificent 2016, this year has seemed to just been plod along with a few niggles here and there, not bad enough to stop training completely, but not really the level of training I wanted to do to go into this strongly.  But a week ago I suddenly started getting a very tight hip and a few shooting pains on the one side – I immediately put the brake on running and have had a few tentative treadmill jogs over the last few days but am still getting some tightness and some pain…. 5 days before my A-race….

Its times like now we’re faced with a difficult decision.  Can I really run 110km in this condition? If not, is it worth starting?  If i do start what if i just make myself worse and ruin running later in the year?  The next few days will tell with some pilates and a physio session ahead of me, rest, good food and hopefully lots of sleep.  Come on Ultimate Trails, I wanna have a go at ya!

Leave a Reply

